Shortlist announced for the DSC Prize for South Asian Literature

Anticipation around the 2nd annual DSC Prize for South Asian Literature continued to rise earlier tonight as the shortlist for the prize celebrating the best writing on South Asia was revealed.

The jury for this year’s $50,000 prize includes renowned literary figures Dr. Alastair Niven, Dr. Fakrul Alam, Faiza S. Khan and Marie Brenner. Ira Pande, chairperson of the jury, reveals the difficult task of intense deliberation over the 16-book longlist:

“The task before the jury was not easy; the main hurdle was how to sift the clever and stylish from the real and true tale. All of us were united in feeling that a novel by any definition must have a strong tale to tell.”

Desperate to know who made it onto this year’s shortlist? Check the SALF website!

The winner of the second DSC Prize for South Asian Literature will be announced at the DSC Jaipur Literature Festival on 21 January 2012. I can’t wait!



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s